Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 057B : Race as U.S. Social Fact and Fiction - Gennari (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This guide is designed to help you conduct successful research for the Group Presentation Project.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

Searching Off Campus?

NOTE:  UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates that it is a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

What's In This Guide?

  1. Starting Points: Background Information: Familiarize yourself with a topic by using these encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections; individual subject encyclopedias.
  2. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  3. Journal Articles: Multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines.
  4. Find the Article: Sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  5. Newspapers: Full-text databases of major newspapers and newspaper collections in the U.S., going back to the 17th century.
  6. Websites: Brief list of highly-regarded websites of primary and secondary resources, published/curated by libraries (university and public) and museums.
  7. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., MLA style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).
  8. Focus Your Topic: Different ways to narrow your topic; Suggested keywords to use when searching the library catalog and article databases.
  9. Keyword Searching: Help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  10. Evaluate Sources: Guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718