Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005I: Contemporary Irish Literature - Patten (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to help you conduct research for the Annotated Bibliography for which you will find 4-5 different sources. Draft due in class on 10/31/17. Final due in class on 11/28/17.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

What's in this Guide?

  1. History & Religion:  Individual subject companions and encyclopedias for history and religion; encyclopedia and dictionary/handbook collections.
  2. Literature & Folklore/Mythology:  Individual subject companions and encyclopedias for Irish literature, folklore, and mythology.
  3. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Links to guidance on searching the catalog. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  4. Recommended Books: A list of books in the main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors), recommended by Professor Patten.
  5. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: Directions on how to find print books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  6. Articles: Databases for locating articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on Irish-related topics. 6A. Sub-tab Find the Article: Sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  7. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., MLA style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).
  8. Evaluate Sources: Guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  9. Keyword Searching: Help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  10. Tutorials: Selected list of interactive library research tutorials.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718