Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

HON 101: Thesis Proposal Seminar - Ashooh (2017/2018)

How to Interpret a Citation in a Bibliography

Bibliographies (aka "Sources," "List of References," "Further Reading") in books and journal articles are great places to find useful sources and expand your research. Here are some tips to help you decipher citations so that you understand the type of information source being cited. While many types of sources may be found in a "Bibliography", books, book chapters, and journal articles are the most common.
Reading & Working with Citations: An Introduction (interactive tutorial)

Book

Reimer, Robert C. Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens: Essays on the Cinema of the Third Reich. Rochester, NY: Camden House, 2000.

Title Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens: Essays on the Cinema of the Third Reich
Author(s)/Editor(s) Robert C. Reimer
Place of publication Rochester, NY
Publisher Camden House
Copyright/Publication date 2000

Clues that this is a book:

  • Contains only one title: Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens:... (book title is usually in italics or underlined)
  • Includes a place of publication: Rochester, NY
  • Includes the name of a publishing company: Camden House
  • Includes the year of publication : 2000

To find a specific book, search the Classic Library Catalog by author or title.

 

Book Chapter

Rundell, Richard J.  "Literary Nazis? Adapting Nineteenth-Century German Novellas for the Screen: Der Schimmelreiter, Kleider machen Leute and Immensee."  In  Reimer, Robert C.  Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens: Essays on the Cinema of the Third Reich. Rochester, NY : Camden House, 2000. pp. 176-96.

Chapter Title Literary Nazis? Adapting Nineteenth-Century German Novellas for the Screen: Der Schimmelreiter, Kleider machen Leute and Immensee
Chapter Author Richard J. Rundell
Source Title Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens: Essays on the Cinema of the Third Reich
Author(s)/Editor(s) Robert C. Reimer
Place of publication Rochester, NY
Publisher Camden House
Copyright/Publication date 2000
Page numbers for the chapter 176-96

Clues that this is a book chapter:

  • The book chapter title is usually enclosed in quotation marks:  "Literary Nazis? Adapting Nineteenth-Century German Novellas for the Screen: Der Schimmelreiter..."
  • The author of the chapter title is present (in addition to the author/editor of the source book): Richard J. Rundell
  • The source book is usually in italics or underlined:  Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens: Essays on the Cinema of the Third Reich
  • The source book is sometimes prefaced by  In  (sometimes in italics): In  Reimer, Robert C. Cultural History through a National Socialist Lens...
  • Page numbers (for the chapter) are included in the citation: 176-96 
  • Includes a place of publication: Rochester, NY
  • Includes the name of a publishing company: Camden House
  • Includes the year of publication: 2000

To find the source book the chapter is in, search the Classic Library Catalog by author or title. Important! Search by the title of the source book - not the chapter title. Or, search by author of the source book - not the author of the chapter title.

 

Journal Article (print)

"Nature Devours History: National Socialism and the Death of Romanticism."  Pois, Robert A.  History of European Ideas, Vol 17(1),  Jan. 1993. pp. 315-321. 
 
Article Title Nature Devours History: National Socialism and the Death of Romanticism
Author(s) Robert A. Pois
Journal Title (title of the journal or magazine in which the article appears) History of European Ideas
Journal volume and issue Volume 17 Issue 1
Date of the Article January 1993
Page numbers for the article 315-321

Clues that this is a print article:

  • Contains the title of the article, sometimes in quotation marks: "Nature Devours History: National Socialism and the Death of Romanticism"
  • Contains another title -> the title of the journal or magazine in which the article appears, often underlined or in italics: History of European Ideas
  • Contains a volume and, sometimes, an issue number: 17.1, or sometimes 17(1)
  • The date is sometimes a year, sometimes month and year, sometimes season (example: Spring) and year.

If you have a citation to a specific article that you are interested in finding, search the Classic Library Catalog (Quick Search, select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu) or the  Journal Titles finder for the title of the journal- not the article title.

 

Article (online)

"Honor Your German Masters: The Use and Abuse of Classical Composers in Nazi Propaganda." By: Dennis, David B.; Journal of Political & Military Sociology, 30.2 (2002): 273-295. [Historical Abstracts with Full Text]  Web. 4 Oct. 2012.

 

Article Title
Honor Your German Masters: The Use and Abuse of Classical Composers in Nazi Propaganda
Author(s) David B. Dennis
Journal Title Journal of Political & Military Sociology
Journal volume and issue Volume 30 Issue 2
Date of the Article 2002
Page numbers for the article 273-295
Database where the full-text of the article was found Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Date when the article was accessed 4 Oct. 2012

Clues that this is an online article:

  • Includes the elements of an article citation, such as two titles, volume/issue numbers, and page numbers
  • Includes the name of the article database in which the article was found: Historical Abstracts with Full Text
  • Includes a date of access

Like print articles, search the Classic Library Catalog (Quick Search, select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu) or the  Journal Titles finder for the title of the journal.

 

[Adapted from the Georgia Tech Library "Research/Writing/Citing Sources" url: http://libguides.gatech.edu/research]