Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005G: What is Literature? - Grosvenor (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This guide is designed to help you conduct successful research for the Research Essay Project.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

What's In This Guide?

  1. Literary Resources: Individual subject encyclopedias and companions about literatures in English, literary terms, literary theory, and biography.
  2. Zora Neale Hurston: Information (books, biographical essays, videos, articles, photographs) about this writer.
  3. Historical & Cultural Resources: Individual subject encyclopedias and companions about U.S. history, British history, and European history; cross-searchable encyclopedia/companion collections.
  4. Newspapers: Selected list of current and historical newspapers in the U.S. and Great Britain. Useful for historical context, obituaries, book reviews.
  5. Journal Articles: Multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines. Sub-tab 5A. Find the Article: sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  6. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  7. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: Directions on how to find books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  8. Poetry: Research tools and finding aids for poets and poetry.
  9. Shakespeare: Research tools and finding aids for Shakespeare and his works.
  10. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., MLA style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).
  11. Evaluate Sources: Guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  12. Tutorials: Selected list of interactive library research tutorials.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718

Searching Off-Campus?