Univ. of Illinois at U-C. Provides documentation on the history of theatre. Collection of original materials on the theatre comprising 5000+ items from 150+ productions in England and the U.S. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
Collaborative project between the Royal College of Art and the Screen Archive South East/University of Brighton. Examines English fashion in the 1920s and 1930s as depicted in film from Screen Archive South East’s collections.
Fashion Drawings & Sketches in the Collections of FIT and the New York Public Library. Collection of drawings and sketches produced by the New York firm, André Fashion Studios, in the 1930s and early 1940s.
Digital version of the big wishbook Sears catalogue. Find black & white and color photos and illustrations of clothing, shoes, nightwear, lingerie, hosiery, furs, jewelry, toys, home furnishings, etc. This book is a snapshot of middle-class America's tastes in 1940.
Duke University Libraries. Images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S.and Canadian newspapers and magazines 1911-1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio; Television; Transportation; Beauty and Hygiene; and World War II. (See also Duke's curated Advertising Collections, digitized advertisements from several collections).
Co-funded by the European Commission, this site includes 700,000+ fashion-related digital objects ranging from historical dresses to accessories, photographs, posters, drawings, sketches, videos, and fashion catalogs.
UK-centered site that contains 890 content rich, illustrated pages of Fashion History, Costume History, Clothing, Fashions and Social History. Covers the Regency Period (late 18th-early 19th c) - 1990s.
Hosted by Victoriana Magazine. Victorian clothing is featured in photographs, prints, and articles. Refer to the prints and images but be careful about authenticity. Be wary of the articles and other text.
Explore digital collections, including "Performing Arts," from the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
(U.S. Dept of Labor). Fascinating calculator to use with the Sears Catalogs books, under "Fashion." Look at clothing prices in Sears catalogs books and use the calculator to see approximately how much the clothing would cost now. Also useful for salaries. Calculator begins for goods sold 1913-present.