Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENGS 005B: Graphic Novels & Narrative Theory - Fogel (Fall 2017)

Welcome to the Library!

This research guide is designed to help you complete the major project,  "...we will focus on laying the groundwork for a future scholarly edition of Jason Lutes' Berlin, with each class member.....writing a subsection of an extensive introduction to the edition and by preparing annotations for about two dozen assigned pages of the novel..."

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly via e-mail or telephone to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.

Quick Identification

Searching Off-Campus?

What's In This Guide?

  1. Historical & Cultural Resources: Individual subject encyclopedias and companions about German history, politics, literature, art, and people.
  2. Books: Library Catalog part of CATQuest. Guidance on searching the catalog for books in the library. Information on checking out and renewing books.
  3. Call Numbers & Subject Headings: Directions on how to find print books in the Bailey/Howe Library main circulating collection (2nd and 3rd floors).
  4. Journal Articles: Multidisciplinary and subject-specific databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines. Sub-tab 4A Find the Article: sample citation unpacked; how to obtain an article when it's not full-text in the database.
  5. Newspapers: Full-text databases of major newspapers in the U.S. and Great Britain, going back to the 19th century.
  6. Websites: Curated  lists of museum, history, and art websites related to the Weimar period.
  7. Images:  Curated lists of image sources from licensed library databases and free Internet websites.
  8. Cite & Write: Style, writing, and citation guides (e.g., MLA style, English-language dictionaries, grammar, etc.).
  9. Evaluate Sources: Guides, charts and videos to help you evaluate your sources for usefulness, credibility, and quality.
  10. How to Read a Citation: Tips to help decipher citations found in bibliographies and at the end of journal articles.
  11. Keyword Searching: Help with developing keywords for a topic, using variant spellings and synonyms, creating a keyword search.
  12. Tutorials: Selected list of interactive library research tutorials.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718