Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

FTS 009: History of Television (Morgan Parmett) - Fall 2017

Welcome to the Library from "Your" Librarian!

This research guide is designed to support your research for the final project. In this guide find library print and online sources as well as selected websites about U.S. television and its historical/social/cultural contexts.

NEED MORE HELP?

Contact me directly (e-mail or telephone) to ask a question or to schedule an appointment for a research consultation. I am always happy to work one-on-one with you to help you with your specific research topic.  I'm the library liaison to the English/FTS Dept and will help you with your research for any English or Film course.

CATQuest

The large search box on the library homepage provides access to our "discovery tool";  it is a Google-like academic search engine designed to retrieve lots of content in our library and beyond (books, articles, videos, etc.). Search the Library Catalog (the Classic Library Catalog but different search interface) and lots -but not all- of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It isn’t meant to replace individual database searching, but provides an opportunity to discover the results of searches in many databases and the library catalog in a single search.  Sign in (upper-right of screen) to access the most content available. Note:  Using a computer off-campus? Connect to the UVM network via ezproxy or VPN client (recommended) before searching CATQuest.

Searching Off-Campus?

What's In This Guide?

  1. Television: Books that list television programs from 1940s-2000s. Encyclopedias and handbooks about all aspects of television. Start here to find background information and overviews of topics within television. Also, instructions for locating books on this topic, using the CATQuest Library Catalog. 1A. Sub-tab Radio: books about radio programs.
  2. U.S. History & Culture: Online and print resources that provide historical, cultural and social contexts for television programs. Also, instructions for locating books on these topics, using the CATQuest Library Catalog.
  3. Biography: Resources for finding biographical information on people within the television industry. Also, instructions for locating book-length biographies, using the CATQuest Library Catalog.
  4. Magazine & Journal Articles: Databases for locating articles in scholarly journals and magazines about both television and U.S. history. Also, instructions for accessing the full-text articles.
  5. Newspaper Articles: Databases of full-text U.S. newspapers from the 19th-21st centuries. Important for finding reviews and articles about tv shows, actors, the industry, etc. from the 1940s-present.
  6. Websites: Television news; awards; research; organizations; interviews; full-text archives of entertainment magazines; websites of U.S. advertisements and tv commercials.
  7. Find Television Programs: Instructions on how to find videos (dvd or streaming) of television programs, using the CATQuest Library Catalog.
  8. Citing Sources: guides to help you cite your sources using the MLA and Chicago citation styles.
  9. TV History Project-Timeline JS: information on the software you will use to create your timeline for the final project.

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718