Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

English & American Literature : Medieval-18th Century: Shakespeare

Literary Criticism - Shakespeare

Articles (databases for finding articles, etc. on all aspects of Shakespeare and his plays)

Streaming Video Collections with Shakespeare Productions

Books in the Library about William Shakespeare

Note: Shakespeare resources are located primarily in the call number range PR 2750-PR 3112 in the regular and Quarto circulating stacks (3rd floor) and in the Reference Collection (main/1st floor).

Library Catalog (CatQuest) search: shakespeare william
add additional words to the search box (e.g., criticism, play title, etc.) to narrow the search.

Also see:
Oxford Handbooks offer thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. Handbook articles review the key issues and current debates on a given topic. These are on the 3rd floor (Circulating Collection):
The Oxford handbook of the age of Shakespeare / PR 421 .O95 2018
The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare /  PR 2894 .O9 2014
The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare and embodiment : gender, sexuality, and race / PR 2976 .O88 2016
The Oxford handbook of Shakespearean comedy / PR 2981 .O94 2018
The Oxford handbook of Shakespearean tragedy /  PR 2983 .O97 2016
The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare's poetry / PR 2984 .O94 2013
The Oxford handbook of Shakespeare and performance /  PR 3091 .O94 2017

REFERENCE - Shakespeare

Note: In Row 11 browse for additional reference books about Shakespeare: biography, plays, characters, language, literary criticism, etc.

Shakespeare Productions...

Associations

Important Journals for Research on Shakespeare

You may find the following journals useful (click the link to see online and print holdings for each journal):
 

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online (see link on this page) indexes many of these periodicals. See also databases listed on the Articles page in this guide.

WEBSITES - Shakespeare

Works of Shakespeare