Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Student Athletes: A Library Guide

Connecting from off-campus

From wherever in the world you are:

BEFORE you begin your research .....

Click on the "Connect from off campus" green button on the library home page at  http://library.uvm.edu .

Then enter in your UVM Net ID and password, same as you do for your UVM Mail and BlackBoard.

This enables you to access and use  all the UVM Libraries electronic resources, such as journal article databases, the electronic journal collection, e-books, and streaming media collections.

OR

1) If you have the VPN (Cisco AnyConnect) installed on your computer,  FIRST log in to your VPN, and then you can seamlessly use all the resources accessible from the UVM Library web page: http://library.uvm.edu

Download the VPN (Cisco AnyConnect) software from: https://www.uvm.edu/software/

Locating articles by topic

When researching a topic, a recommended way to start is by using a broad, interdisciplinary database to locate journal articles. 

Academic Search Premier is a great database to start with. 

The UVM Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases to help you locate scholarly journal articles.  Choose a general, multi-subject resource to start, such as Academic Search Premier,  and then use a subject-specific database to get a greater depth of access to the subject literature.

From the library home page (http://library.uvm.edu ):

1) Click on:  Research databases (green button)
2) This takes you to a master alphabetical list of databases.  To look at databases by subject, click on the pull-down menu that defaults to All Subjects and select the subject of interest to you.

Accessing articles of interest in databases

  • Follow links to the full-text article, if available.
  • Click on the External Link Icon button to see if we subscribe to the journal.
    • If we subscribe electronically, you will either be taken directly into the article or to an intermediary screen that gives you access to the article.
    • If we only have the journal in print, you will get the location information in the library. 
  • If we do not own or provide access to the article, use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of the article.