Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides
Search all guides
Writing and Citing
Choosing a Topic
Strategies that you can use when choosing a topic, including reviewing and understanding the assignment, and selecting a quality topic.
Identifying Search Terms
A helpful chart to assist with brainstorming and keeping track of search terms
Sources of Information
An overview of some of the many different types of information, and how you might use each.
This guide introduces you to a standard criteria you can use for evaluating information.
Reading and Working with Citations
Find out how to interpret the bibliographies attached to materials you you've already found and use them to find more information.
A Guide to CATQuest
Get to know CATQuest, a powerful discovery tool that searches nearly everything in UVM Libraries' physical and digital collections.
A Guide to the Classic Library Catalog
An interactive guide to the Classic Library Catalog and when you might need it.
Bailey/Howe Library Floor Maps
Figure out where your items are located and see where the study rooms are by using the floor maps.
Writing & Citing
A handy tool for creating APA and MLA citations that you can paste into your bibliography.
Citation style guides
Become an expert in APA, MLA, Chicago, and more with these helpful style guides.
Writing tutors at the library
Get feedback and help strengthening your writing with tutors. Free and conveniently located at Bailey/Howe Library.
This quick guide will help you understand why library databases are essential for your research.
Academic Search Premier Overview
Learn how to use this multi-disciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature, magazine articles, and some newspaper articles
Don't know what to use? Try these
UVM provides access to hundreds of unique databases. These work for most subjects.
Ask a Librarian
Chat, email, call, stop by, or schedule an appointment to meet with one of the librarians.
Subject and Class Guides
The best resources for your discipline, including books, reference materials, and article databases.
If you're curious to learn more, the library has many online tutorials introducing you to the library and other related topics.
Jan 27, 2016 12:38 PM
Report a problem