Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Finding Full Text Articles

Do I Have to Pay?

There may be a time when you are asked to pay for full text access by a publisher. Please don't. The library can usually get the article for you for free. Please Ask a Librarian for help if you run into this problem.

Need Help?

Finding full text can be a little confusing. If you need help or if you have questions, please Ask a Librarian for assistance. Someone will respond to you ASAP.

Follow These Steps to Find Full Text in Google Scholar

Some biomedical journals provide free access to some or all of their content.  That's why you can find some articles online when you use Google or Google Scholar. 

However, you can program Google Scholar so that it can access the electronic journals provided by Dana Medical Library as well.  Please follow these instructions to activate this function on your computer.

Step 1.  Connect to Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com)

Step 2.  Click on the Settings link located in the upper right hand corner.

Google Scholar Settings Link

Step 3.  Click on the Library Links link located on the left hand side of the Scholar Settings page.

Library Links

Step 4.  Run a search for University of Vermont.

Enter University of Vermont

Step 5.  Check the box beside the University of Vermont - Find it @ UVM option.

Save Selection

Step 6.  Click the blue Save button.

 

Can't see the rest of these instructions? Click inside the box and scroll.

Test Your Google Scholar Links

It's a good idea to run a quick test to make sure that your Find it @UVM links work in Google Scholar:

Run a search for a topic you are interested in.  In this example, we'll search for medical education.

Scroll through the results.  If any of the articles are published in journals that Dana Medical Library subscribes to, you will see a Find it @ UVM link to the right of the citation.

Search Results

Click the Find it @ UVM link.

A new window or tab will open up and the article should appear.

Full Text

In some cases, you may have to look around on this page for a button or a link to open the actual PDF copy of the article.

 

Can't see the rest of these instructions? Click inside the box and scroll.

Frequently Asked Questions

Click on each question to read the answer.

QI clicked on the full text button but my article didn't appear.  Instead, it looks like the table of contents from the most recent issue of the journal.  What do I do now?

A. Try looking for a link that says something like "Older Issues" or "Archive" or for a section that lists all the years that the journal was published.  Click on the year your article was published and then navigate to the specific issue that contains your article.  Click on the title of your article to open it up.

 

QI l clicked on the full text button, but my article didn't appear.  I got a page that has a green banner with the words University of Vermont Libraries on it.  What do I do now?

 

QI programmed Google Scholar to use Find it @ UVM links on my computer, but now I'm using a different one. Do I have to program it again?