Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Finding Full Text Articles

This guide will show you how to find the full text version of an article (if available) using Dana Medical Library resources.

Do I Have to Pay?

There may be a time when you are asked to pay for full text access by a publisher. Please don't. The library can usually get the article for you for free. Please Ask a Librarian for help if you run into this problem.

Need Help?

Finding full text can be a little confusing. If you need help or if you have questions, please Ask a Librarian for assistance. Someone will respond to you ASAP.

Follow These Steps to Find Full Text in PubMed

NOTE: In order for the full text buttons described in this guide to appear, you must connect to PubMed via the Dana Medical Library website.

 

Step 1.  Run your search in PubMed and select a citation for an article that you would like to read.

Step 2.  Click on the article title listed in the citation.  This will open up the full citation for that article.

PubMed Article Title

Look in the upper right hand corner for a green and white button labeled UVM E-Journals

If the button is not there, then Dana Medical Library does not provide full text.  If this happens, please consult the Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan page for instructions on requesting a copy.

UVM E-Journals Button

Step 3.  Click the UVM E-Journals button.  A new tab or window will open up and the article should appear.

PubMed Full Text

In some cases, the PDF version of the article will open.  In others, the article will appear in HTML format as you see in this example.  When this happens, you will have to look for and click on the PDF link in order to view it in that format.  There is no standardized spot on the web site where this PDF link will appear, so you may have to hunt for it. 

 

Can't see the rest of these instructions? Click inside the box and scroll.

Frequently Asked Questions

Click on each question to read the answer.

QI don't see a UVM E-Journals button, but I do see one that looks like it's from the publisher. Should I click it?

A. There are times when you won't see the UVM E-Journals button, but there will be a button from another institution - like a publisher. Click the button to see if it will open up the full text version of the article. In some cases it will, but in other cases it won't.

 

QI don't see a UVM E-Journals button, but I do see one that says UVM Journals. What does that mean?

 

QI keep seeing a link that says Dana Medical Library Full Text in the upper right hand corner of my results page. What does that mean?