Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Primary Sources

How to find primary sources in UVM Libraries Special Collections (ground floor)

If your research concerns Vermont or UVM, consult the Wilbur Collection in Special Collections, which includes hundreds of thousands of books, pamphlets, photographs, maps, manuscripts, Vermont legislative records, and state agency documents.

Special Collections also houses the rare books collection and maintains a reference file of news articles and pamphlets on issues pertaining to Vermont. Faculty and staff also can help you access the University Archives, which houses administrative files, faculty lecture notes, student diaries, and assorted other UVM-related materials from the 1790s to the present.

For more information about locating these materials, see http://library.uvm.edu/sc/research.php.

Vermont newspaper articles

Burlington Free Press Press (ProQuest) IconFull-text coverage of selected articles from Burlington Free Press, Nov. 28, 2002-present.

Burlington Free Press/Rutland Herald Index—Citations to articles in the Burlington Free Press or Rutland Herald, 1984-present. TO LOCATE FULL TEXT:  Consult Burlington Free Press or Rutland Herald microfilm in the microfilm/microfiche area (2nd floor).

TO FIND CITATIONS TO EARLIER ARTICLES in the Burlington Free Press:

1827-1836, 1896-1898, 1950-51, and 1959-1983--Use the card-file index in Special Collections (ground floor). Then locate full text on microfilm.

1848-1870--Use the bound volumes in Special Collections (ground floor), A121 .B86. Note: This index covers the weekly edition 1827-1847 and the daily edition 1848-1870. Then locate full text on microfilm.

NOTE:  For more information about Vermont newspapers, see also "Vermont Newspapers" subject guide.