Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Primary Sources

Use these resources to find historical magazine and newspaper articles and photographs

NOTE:  For information about newspapers, see also "Vermont Newspapers" and "Historical Newspapers" subject guides.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers IconSearchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than 1,200 titles and almost one million pages are included.

Accessible Archives Icon A variety of primary source materials relating to U.S. history from the 18th through the early 20th centuries including newspapers, magazines, county histories, books, and more. Note: materials in this collection are text (not image-based) versions of the originals.

America’s Historical Newspapers IconHistorical newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and the recent past, including titles from all 50 states.

AP Images Icon1 million Associated Press photographs, 1826-present.

Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) IconFull text of the Boston Globe, 1872-1985.

British Library Newspapers IconFull runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain, including national and regional newspapers.

Burlington Free Press Press (ProQuest) IconFull-text coverage of selected articles from Burlington Free Press, 1999-present.

Burlington Free Press/Rutland Herald Index—Citations to articles in the Burlington Free Press or Rutland Herald, 1984-2009. TO LOCATE FULL TEXT:  Consult Burlington Free Press or Rutland Herald microfilm in the microfilm/microfiche area (2nd floor).

TO FIND CITATIONS TO EARLIER ARTICLES in the Burlington Free Press:

1827-1836, 1896-1898, 1950-51, and 1959-1983--Use the card-file index in Special Collections (Billings Library). Then locate full text on microfilm.

1848-1870--Use the bound volumes in Special Collections (Billings Library), A121 .B86. Note: This index covers the weekly edition 1827-1847 and the daily edition 1848-1870. Then locate full text on microfilm.

Chicago Tribune Icon Full text, 1849-1994.

Chinese Newspapers CollectionIcon Full text of more than 20 Chinese newspapers, 1832-1953.

Christian Science MonitorIcon Full text, 1908-2004.

Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers Use this site to search pages from American newspapers from 1789 to 1963 or to find information about American newspapers published between 1690 and the present.

Guardian (Manchester, England, ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Icon Full text, 1821-2003.

Harper's WeeklyIcon Full text, 1857-1912.

LIFE magazine, 1935-1970

Los Angeles Times, historical backfile IconFull text, 1881-1995.

Los Angeles Times, current content IconFull text,1985-present.

National Geographic Virtual Library Icon Full text, 1988-present

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) IconFull text, 1851-2014.

Nineteenth-Century British Newspapers Icon Provides access to national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society, 1800-1899.

Observer (London, England, ProQuest Historical Newspapers) IconFull text, 1791-2003.

Picture Post Historical Archive Icon Full text, 1938-1957.

Poole’s Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1881), Reference Z 1219 .P659

ProQuest Digital Microform Icon A search portal for online access to: Barrons (2008- ); Boston globe (2008- ); Los Angeles times (2008- ); New York times (2008- ); Wall Street journal (2008- ).

Readers Guide to Periodical Literature, Reference Z 1219 .R48 (1982-2018); Williston Annex Z 1219 .R48 (1900-1981).

Readers Guide Retrospective IconIndex to magazine articles, 1890-1982.

Sunday Times Digital Archive IconFull Text, 1822-2006.

Times Digital Archive IconScanned images of The Times (of London) published from 1785-2012.

Times of India IconDigitized version of the microfilm edition, 1838-2009.

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive IconFull text, 1902-five years ago.

Vogue Archive IconFull-color page images (including advertisements) of the entire run, 1892-present.

Wall Street JournalIcon Full text, 1889-2000.

Washington Post IconDigitized version of the microfilm edition, 1877-2001.