Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Continuing Education Knowledge Exchange

Demographics

American factfinder
Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web
URL: http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml
Format: Free World Wide Web Site
Description: Data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Type a state, county, city, town, or zip code in the "Community Facts" box for quick access to data about people in that geographic area.
American incomes: demographics of who has money
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC110.I5 R87 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Using data and narrative, this source explores and explains the economic status of Americans, covering household income trends--including hard-to-find data about discretionary income--by many demographic characteristics. It reveals who has maintained their income and who is falling behind.

CensusScope
Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web
URL: http://www.censusscope.org/index.html
Format: Free World Wide Web Site
Description: An easy-to-use source for basic demographic data from the U.S. Census at the national, state, metro area, and county levels. Also includes rankings, maps and charts.

Market guide
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HF5905 .E38
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Contains demographic data, cost of living indexes, and sales data for states, metropolitan statistical areas, counties and cities. Also ranks markets by demographic characteristics and retail sales (overall and by product category).

Vermont economic-demographic profile
Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web
URL: http://www.vtlmi.info/profile2012.pdf
Format: Free World Wide Web Site
Description: Offers demographic, economic, industry, employment and wage data for Vermont at the county and town level. Also offers information on tax revenues, home sales, and education statistics.
Vermont indicators online
Where to Find It: On the World Wide Web
URL: http://www.uvm.edu/crs/indicators_2010/profiles.php
Format: Free World Wide Web Site
Description: Easy-to-use source for basic data from the U.S. Census and other sources for Vermont and its towns, villages, and counties.  Includes tables on population, education, economy, housing, transportation, race/ethnicity, income, public safety, property taxation, employment, and more.

Consumer Behavior and Psychographics

Baby boom: Americans born 1946 to 1964
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HN60. R84 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Based largely on data collected by the federal government, this source provides data and analysis on baby boomers' attitudes, education, health, housing, income, work, living arrangements, spending, time use, wealth, and demographics.
Best customers: demographics of consumer demand
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC79.C6 B45 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Using data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Study, examines spending patterns by demographic characteristics of households. Covers 300 products and services and reveals which types of households spend the most.

Generation X: Americans born 1965 to 1976
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC110.C6 G466 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Presents data and narrative describing this population in 11 chapters, covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth.
Household spending: Who spends how much on what
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC110 .C6 H68 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Reveals how American households allocate their spending dollars, based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey. Includes summary household spending statistics by various consumer segments as well as detailed spending statistics organized by major product and service categories.

Local market audience analyst
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1722870
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only) REQUIRES INTERNET EXPLORER
Description: REQUIRES INTERNET EXPLORER. Uses data from Nielsen Claritas and Experian Simmons to provide demographic, lifestyle behavior, and psychographic information for U.S. counties and designated market areas (DMAs).

Millennials: Americans born 1977 to 1994
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HQ796 .M55 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Provides data and analysis on the "millennial" generation (age 15-32 in 2009), with chapters on attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use and wealth.
National consumer study
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=2579710
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only)
Description: Extremely powerful and comprehensive database providing the characteristics of consumers who use various products/services and about the media that reach them.
NOTE:  A user guide with step-by-step instructions for using this database is available here:  More Search Instructions
Older Americans: a changing market
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HQ1062 .U5 O4183 2009
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Provides data and analysis on Americans 55 and older, with 11 chapters on attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use and wealth.

Roper center for public opinion research
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1643792
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only)
Description: Click "Data Access" > "Topics at a Glance" to see poll results on foreign policy, economics, education, social conerns, science, technology, health, politics, and personal beliefs.