Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Continuing Education Knowledge Exchange

Enrollment Outlook

The Survey of Adult and Continuing Education Programs in Higher Education

Primary Research Group, 2011 (ISBN 1-57440-159-9).

NOTE:  Bailey/Howe Library does not own this book. To request that the library purchase a copy for the collection, please click here. Alternatively, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan, or you may purchase your own copy.

This book reports the results of a survey of 40 colleges and universities that provide adult education programs. Data include management's assessment of enrollment trends and outlook in more than 20 types of programs. Also included are data about revenues, employers' contribution to tuition, faculty size, and marketing mix and expenditures.

Employment Projections and Training Requirements

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Search by "number of new jobs (projected)," "growth rate (projected)," or "on the job training."


Bureau of Labor Statistics Web Site

Click "Subject Areas" > "Employment Projections" > "EP Tables" > "Table 1.12 Education and Training Categories by Detailed Occupation, 2010"


NOTE:  The "on the job training" levels are defined in the following BLS paper:

Dixie Sommers and Teresa L. Morisi, "Employment projections through the lens of education and training."  PDF

Industry Forecasts

We have numerous sources of industry reports, covering trends and forecasts.

Many sources are organized using industry codes (SIC or NAICS). For more information about industry codes, please see http://library.uvm.edu/guides/subjectguides/BIZ/codes.php

Business insights: Essentials
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1331123
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only)
Description: A large database of industry and company (public, private, domestic, and international) information. Click "Industries" to find reports on background, current trends, forecasts, and size of an industry.
 
Encyclopedia of emerging industries
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC102 .E54 2011
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Contains essays covering mostly new businesses and sectors that have shown significant growth or potential for growth. Arranged alphabetically.
IBISWorld industry market research
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1625905
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only)
Description: Comprehensive current and historical reports on more than 700 U.S. industries and 75 reports on global industries. Reports cover industry statistics, history, outlook, conditions, major companies, market characteristics and segments, and more. Click "Industry Archives" to access over 10,000 previous reports dating back to 2001. Click "Global Industry Research" to see international reports. Click "Business Environment" for reports on consumer behavior, financial markets, demographics, commodities, and economic indicators. NOTE: The selection of reports changes without notice, so if you find one that's useful, print or download it to ensure continued access.

Manufacturing & distribution U.S.A.
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HD9724 .M364
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Provides information on 450 industries in manufacturing and wholesale and retail trade, plus an analysis of the general state of manufacturing. Organized by NAICS codes, it includes data on establishments, employment, compensation, production, leading companies, inputs/outputs, and product share.

OneSource
Where to Find It: On the UVM Libraries Web Site
URL: http://voyager.uvm.edu/cgi-bin/purl?cat=uvmdb&id=1627152
Format: Subscription Database (Remote access for UVM affiliates only)
Description: Includes in-depth global industry and market research reports. To see a list of industries covered and to access reports, choose "Industries > Industry-Browse" in the blue bar.

Standard & Poor's industry surveys
Where to Find It: Bailey/Howe Reference Stacks (1st Floor)
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
Format: Printed Material (book, report, etc.)
Description: Offers in-depth profiles 50 industries twice a year, including current environment, industry trends, marketing issues, management concerns, key players, financial data and ratios. Check prior years' editions if your industry isn't covered in the current set. Industry surveys are currently arranged in alphabetical order; check the index at the front of Volume I for a list of surveys.