The tutorials and guides listed below are required course work for all sections of ENGS 1. Each class will complete the guides and tutorials listed but the dates will vary for each section. Talk with your instructor for more details.
This page describes a strategy for generating keywords before you start to search and provides links to recommended sources for locating background information on a topic. It also includes a link to the Keyword Brainstorming Table which you should print out and complete.
This freshly revised guide introduces you to the to the wide range range of research materials you will encounter as a college student and provides you with standard criteria you can use for evaluating information.
Selecting the right search tool for your research needs is an important part of the research process. This quick guide will help you understand why library databases are essential and the kinds of information you can expect to find with them.
Academic Search Premier is one of UVM Library's most used databases. It is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature as well as access to magazine articles and some newspaper articles. Although it's simple to use, there are a few fantastic features we'd like you to know about to make sure you're getting the most out of it. This tutorial includes a quiz. You must send a copy of your answers to your instructor by following the directions in the quiz.
An overview of some of the many different types of information, and how you might use each. This tutorial includes a quiz. You must send a copy of your answers to your instructor by following the directions in the quiz.
CATQuest is a tool that searches much of UVM Libraries' physical and digital collections. It can be used to find books, articles, videos, and more. This guide will introduce you to some of CATQuest's many features and help you find exactly what you need.