Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Nursing Resources for Students and Faculty

Does the Library Have This Article?

There may be times when you already know the article you need. You just need to find out if the library has full text access. Here's a quick way to check:

  1. Go to the library's homepage
  2. Type the name of the journal article into the CatQuest box
  3. Click the orange Find button

If we have access, it should be the first record in the results list. Click the Article icon to connect to the full text.

Do I Have to Pay?

You may run into a situation where you are asked to pay for full text. Don't do it! The library can usually get the article for you for free. Please Ask a Librarian for help if you run into this problem.

Need Help?

Finding full text can be a little confusing. If you need help or have questions, please Ask a Librarian for assistance. Someone will get back to you ASAP.

Finding Full Text

Dana Medical Library has access to over 5,000 journals and more than 95% of them are available online. The videos in the box below will show you how to find full text article in 3 key resources: CINAHL, PubMed, and Google Scholar.

Click on the tab to view each video.

Finding Full Text in CINAHL | PubMed | Google Scholar

Loading

Ordering an Article from Another Library

There may be times when the library doesn't have access to the full text of the article you need. When that happens, we can still get the article for you from another library using a process called Interlibrary Loan. All you need to do is fill out a quick form to let us know what you need. Just follow these steps:

 

Step 1. Go to the Dana Medical Library homepage

Step 2. Click on the green DD/ILL Request button

Step 3. Click on the link that matches your affiliation e.g. students would click the first one - UVM Health and Biomedical Sciences Student, or University of Vermont Medical Center Resident or Fellow

Step 4. Fill in the "Information About You" boxes with your name, department, and email address

Step 5. Be sure to select the Email it to me option under "Delivery Options"

Step 6. Enter information about the item you are requesting in the "Item Information" box. Please include as much information as you can.

Step 7. Select the I agree to abide by US Copyright Law option

Step 8. Click on the Submit button

You will be notified when your item has arrived.  If you ordered an article, there will be instructions in the email about how to download a copy of it.  If you ordered a book, you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk in the library.

If you have more questions about Interlibrary Loan, please refer to the Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan Policy page.  You can also contact the Interlibrary Loan department directly by emailing danaill@uvm.edu or calling 802-656-4382.

 

Next: Citing Your Resources