Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

ENVS 101: Academic Planning Workshop - Wright (Fall 2017)

Using Google Scholar from Off-Campus?

A couple options to connect you with the full text of articles to which UVM has electronic subscriptions:


1) After you have logged in from the "Connect off-campus" link on the main library home page, click on: Research databases (green button) --> select Google Scholar from alphabetical list

OR

2) If you have the VPN (Cisco Anyconnect) installed on your computer, log into that first, and then go to: http://scholar.google.com

Searchable electronic journal collections

Finding Articles for this class and others ...

Try these featured databases for environmental topics. 
**  If using from off-campus, you will be prompted for your UVM login upon clicking on a database to which the library subscribes.  Login for access.  

Using CATQuest

CATQuest is called a discovery tool and is a Google-like “meta” academic search engine designed to search broadly and return very large sets of results.

It searches lots (not all) of the content in databases subscribed to by the library.  It is the big search box on the library home page.

HELP: The CATQuest User Guide serves as an introduction to the discovery tool CATQuest. 
CATQUEST TUTORIAL:  CATQuest Interactive Tutorial

Interdisciplinary Research

The study of the environment is broadly interdisciplinary and, depending on the nature of your research, you may find references to environmentally related scholarly journal literature in databases across the wide range of disciplines.

Look at  Databases by Subject for further resources that will be useful to you. (Click on the Browse by subject link on the right side of the screen).  Comprehensive interdisciplinary research involves using a variety of research databases.