Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Neurology

Search the journal literature

PubMed

PubMed is the US National Library of Medicine's free search system for health information. The primary component of PubMed is MEDLINE, NLM's premier database for the biomedical literature. In addition, PubMed contains a few smaller subsets that are not part of MEDLINE. Access PubMed through Dana Medical Library's homepage or this research guide to connect to UVM Electronic Journal holdings.

OvidMEDLINE®

UVM Libraries also offers the MEDLINE database via Ovid Technologies. Some searchers consider OvidMEDLINE® to be the platform of choice for complicated searches involving the combination of multiple sets and concepts.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases created by the Cochrane Collaboration and published by John Wiley & Sons. The Cochrane LIbrary includes the highly-regarded Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), and several other unique databases. Go here for more information.

Web of Science

Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Can be used for subject searching or for cited reference searching. Includes access to Journal Citation Reports, with impact factors.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO, produced by the American Psychological Association, indexes the scholarly literature in the psychological, sociological, behavioral, and health sciences,  It provides access to journal articles, books/book chapters, dissertations, and web sites.

Google Scholar

Helpful for accessing the full-text of an article, as well as for citation searching.

Connecting from Off-Campus?

You must be a current faculty member, resident, staff, or student of UVM or the University of Vermont Medical Center to obtain off-campus access to licensed resources, including online journals. 

If you'll be accessing our resources using your University of Vermont Medical Center account, log on to the University of Vermont Medical Center Gateway, and click on the link for Dana Medical Library.

If you'll be accessing our resources using your UVM NetID, check out this short video for instructions for accessing resources via EZProxy.

Go to the Connect From Off Campus page for additional information.

List of UVM E-Journals

Search for E-Journals via the the List of UVM Journals. Be sure to note the years of availability.

TIP! Our electronic resources do not require user names or passwords for on-campus access. So.... if a publisher's web site requests a logon, confirm by checking the UVM Libraries Catalog.

If UVM doesn't subscribe to the journal, you can request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).