Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

archives, preservation, museums

United States

Public Research Centers & Archives
Library of Congress-maintained portal to film archives and research centers worldwide.

National Film Preservation Board
Board responsible for annually selecting "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant films" for p reservation in the Library of Congress' (LOC) National Film Registry. Advises the LOC on its national film preservation planning policy. Site includes a link to the films listed in the National Film Registry .

Audio-Visual Conservation (Library of Congress-Packard Campus)

UCLA Film & Television Archive

Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences - Film Archive

Archive of American Television (aka EMMYTVLEGENDS.ORG)
Collection of online videos of unscripted interviews with t.v. "pioneers and legends" (actors, broadcast journalists, directors, producers, costumers, etc.) provided by The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation.

George Eastman House - Int' Museum of Photography and Film

Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) - Film Collection

Pacific Film Archive (PFA)

Museum of Broadcast Communications

Museum of the Moving Image

Paley Center for Media

Walt Disney Family Museum

International

Documentation Collections. Locate through FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus UVM affiliates only. From the main page, click "Documentation Collections" to search that database.
Database of information about the world's foremost film archives, libraries, and educational institutions. Each entry includes details of published and unpublished materials, visual and sound collections and special collections held by the institution.

European Film Gateway
EU-funded portal to the digital collections of  30+ European film archives. Offers free access to 600,000+ digital videos, photos, magic lantern slides, film posters, and text materials.

British Film Institute (BFI) - National Archive

National Archives of the United Kingdom - Exhibitions
View many documents through the Archives' online exhibitions. The displays cover various periods using photographs, documents and film. Browse by Name and by Historical Period.

National Archives of the United Kingdom - Focus on Film

UbuWeb : Film & Video
Digital archive of avant-garde film and video.