Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

Film Lists/Catalogs & Plots

Note: Some of these sources also include plot summaries, production information, and/or brief critical information (e.g., reviews/analysis) about each film.

Index to Motion Picture Credits Database (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Official Academy Awards Database

AFI's 100 Greatest.. Lists
AFI's 10 Top 10
The American Film Institute celebrated the first century of American film-making by polling their "experts" for lists of the greatest American films of all times and greatest American films in various categories. The AFI also polled their "experts" for "America's 10 greatest films in 10 classic genres."

American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United States (6 volumes) / REF PN 1998 .A57
Library has volumes for: 1911-1930, 1961-1970
Online:AFI Catalog (1893-2011)

Complete Index to World Film since 1895
Searchable database of 450,000+ film titles. Search by title, person, year, country of origin, genre, or production company.

National Film Registry
List of films deemed "culturally, historically, or aesthetically important" to be preserved by the National Film Preservation Board. Each year the board selects 25 films to add to the Registry.

British Film Catalogue, 1895-1970; A Reference Guide / REF PN 1993.5 .G7 G5
see also, British Films Directory, a searchable database of new British films, extending back to 1998.

Treasures from Film Archives. Locate through FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals UVM affiliates only. From the main page, click "Publications." In the Source Type list, click "Artistic & Aesthetic Works."
Database contains credits and holdings information for more than 48,000 silent-era films (features, short films, actualities and fictional works), made before 1929, in the collections of the major international film archives.

International Film Index, 1895-1990 (2 volumes) / REF PN 1998 .I52 1991
Indexes 180,000+ individual films (features, shorts, TV movies, animation, documentaries, serials, and silents) by 24,000+ directors representing 129 countries. Cross-referencing makes this work ideal for locating alternative film titles or a director's oeuvre.

Magills Cinema Annual / REF PN 1993.3 .M34  *earlier years (1982- ) shelved in the Quarto section on the 3rd floor
Serves as an annual supplement to Magill's Survey of Cinema (see entry following). Published annually for significant domestic and foreign films released in the previous year. Each entry includes: the film title; running time; cast and crew; an essay which provides a history of the production, a plot summary, popular and critical reception, and analysis, and citation to reviews.

Magill’s Survey of Cinema : English Language Films, first series (4 volumes) / REF PN 1993.45 .M3
Magill’s Survey of Cinema : English Language Films, second series (6 volumes) / REF PN 1993.45 .M32
Magill’s Survey of Cinema, Foreign Language Films (8 volumes) / REF PN 1993.45 .M34 1986
Magill’s Survey of Cinema--Silent Films (3 volumes) / REF PN 1995.75 .M33 1982
See entry above for description.

Motion Picture Guide (multivolume) / REF PN 1993 .M4334
Guide to English-language, foreign, and silent films, 1910-1999. Films are arranged in alphabetical order by title, and each entry includes a starred rating, year of release, cast and crew list, production information, and a synopsis.

Screen World (multivolume) / REF PN 1993.3 .D3
Each volume contains a survey of film releases for the previous year, often with photographs. It identifies major films with the cast lists and production credits. Library has 1955-2012 (ceased pub. in 2012).

Film Adaptations

Books and Plays in Films, 1896-1915: Literary, Theatrical, and Artistic Sources of the First Twenty Years of Motion Pictures / REF PN 1997.85 .G54 1991

Complete Index to Literary Sources in Film / REF PN 1997.85 .G64 1999

Encyclopedia of Novels into Film / REF PN 1997.85 .T54 2005

Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film / REF PN 1997.85 .T544 2001

International Guide to Literature on Film / REF PN 1997.85 .I67 1994

Theatre: Stage to Screen to Television (2 volumes) / REF PN 2189 .L44

More Theatre: Stage to Screen to Television (2 volumes) / REF PN 2189 .M32 1993

Enser's Filmed Books and Plays: A List of Books and Plays From Which Films Have Been Made, 1928-1991 / REF Z 5784 .M9 B385 1993


Shakespeare on Film...

Directory of Shakespeare in Performance, 1970-2005 (3 volumes) / REF PR 3100 .D57 2007
v. 1. Great Britain, 1970-2005 -- v. 2. Canada and USA, 1970-1990 -- v. 3. Canada and USA, since 1991

Shakespeare: A Hundred Years on Film / REF PR 3093 .S26 2004

On Your Own...

  • Use the Classic Library Catalog - Guided Keyword search.
  • In one of the search boxes, type: film adaptations and limit it to the subject field, e.g., film adaptations [all of these] [Subject]
  • In the next search box, type in your own search terms, e.g, american literature [as a phrase] [Keyword Anywhere]

Example:

film adaptations [all of these] [Subject]
and
american literature [as a phrase] [Keyword Anywhere]


  • Use the Classic Library Catalog - Quick Search.
  • Select "Subject Heading" from the pull-down menu next to the search box.
  • In the search box, type one of the following four subject headings:
    motion pictures and literature
    film adaptations
    english literature film and video adaptations
    american literature film and video adaptations