Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

Current Newspapers - Full-text

LexisNexis-Academic UVM affiliates only
Full-text articles and movie reviews from U.S. and international newspapers (including the New York Times) and magazines. Text only. Coverage: 1980s-present, date varies by publication.

Los Angeles Times UVM affiliates only
Full-text articles written and edited by the LA Times-no newswire stories. Text only. Coverage: 1985-present.

Burlington Free Press UVM affiliates only
Major newspaper for Burlington, VT. Coverage is not cover-to-cover. Only selected articles are included, as determined by the Burlington Free Press (e.g., only articles written by Burlington Free Press staff; no newswire stories). Text only. Coverage: 1999-present.

Seven Days (Vermont's Independent Voice)

VTDigger.org: Independent, Investigative News for Vermont

Full-Text Print Reviews

New York Times Film Reviews (multivolume) / REF PN 1995 .N4
Full-text movie reviews from the New York Times. Library has: 1913-1989/1990.

Variety Film Reviews (multivolume) / REF PN 1993 .V36
Full-text movie reviews from Variety. Library has: 1907-1996.

Historical Newspapers - Full-Text

America's Historical Newspapers UVM affiliates only
Full-text collection that includes hundreds of American newspapers. Coverage:1690-1991 (coverage dates vary by newspaper). Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) UVM affiliates only
Full-text of the New York Times 1851-20XX (excludes the most recent four years). View individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Review" from the list.

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) UVM affiliates only
Full-text of the LA Times 1881-1991. View individual articles and full-page images of the paper.To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Review" from the list.

Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) UVM affiliates only
Full-text of the Boston Globe 1872-1983.  View individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Review" from the list.

Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) UVM affiliates only
Full-text of the Washington Post 1877-1998.  View individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Review" from the list.


ProQuest Historical Newspapers : the Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)UVM affiliates only
Full-text of these two newspapers. View individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document Type" category, select "Review" from the list.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2009 (Times of London) UVM affiliates only
Full-text of the Times of London, 1785-2009.  Search or browse full-page images of the paper. To find movie reviews: enter search terms; in the Limit Section, "Features," select Arts and Entertainment -> Reviews.

Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006  UVM affiliates only
Full-text of The Sunday Times, which was an entirely separate paper from The Times until January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, the The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times.