Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Search Tips

It is useful when looking for a film review to know the:

Film's complete title
Director's full name
Year the film was released

If you are unsure of this information, check one of the following:

In print resources, film reviews do not always appear in the release year. Always consult volumes at least one year following the publication date.

Film Reviews - Magazine & Journal Articles

NOTE: For film reviews in newspapers, refer to the page: NEWSPAPERS.


Film & Television Literature Index UVM affiliates only
Indexes journals, magazines and books in film and television, many with full-text articles and reviews. Coverage: late 1970s-present, but citations to Variety film reviews begin in 1914.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals UVM affiliates only
Article citations (with abstracts) from periodicals, offering in-depth coverage of highly-regarded academic and popular film journals. Has more international emphasis than Film Literature Index. Many citations have links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1972-present.

Film Literature Index
Indexes journals in film and television- articles in scholarly journals and reviews in popular magazines. International coverage. Coverage: 1976-2001.

Art Full Text UVM affiliates only
Find citations to film and television criticism and reviews. From 1995 onwards, @300 periodicals provide citations with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1984-present.

Film Review Annual (multivolume) / REF PN 1995 .F463
Reprints important film reviews in magazines and newspapers in their entirety and lists other publications in which the film was reviewed. Library has: 1981-2001.

Film Review Index (2 volumes) / REF Z 5784. M9 F513 1986
Index to reviews, histories, and critical commentaries on significant films. Each film entry includes a list of citations to the reviews, etc. Volume 1: 1882-1949 Volume 2: 1950-1985.

Guide to Critical Reviews / REF Z 5782 .S34 1971 [Part 4: "The Screenplay, from The Jazz Singer to Dr. Strangelove"]
REF Z 5784 .M9 S24 1982 ["The Screenplay, Supplement One, 1963 to 1980"]
Cites reviews of films published in popular magazines.

Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals, together with: Index to Critical Reviews of Books about Film [1930-1972] / REF Z 5784 .M9 B64 [3 volumes in 2]

International Index to Performing Arts UVM affiliates only
Indexes magazines and scholarly journals in the performing arts. Covers topics such as dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, etc. Coverage: 1864-present, date varies by publication.

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals 1930-1971 / REF Z 5784 .M9 B39

Selected Film Criticism (7 volumes) / REF PN 1995 .S426 1982
Provides a cross-section of contemporary American film criticism from 1896-1960. The volumes reprint reviews in their entirety from a variety of magazines and journals.


TLS Historical Archive 1902-2010 UVM affiliates only
Searchable database of the full content of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS). Find full-text reviews (books, theatre productions, films, musical performances, exhibitions), essays, poems, letters to the editor, advertisements, and additional matter.

Academic Search Premier UVM affiliates only
Popular magazines, selected newspapers, including the New York Times, and scholarly journals. Many citations have links to full-text articles. Coverage: late 1970s-present, date varies by publication. To find film reviews: enter motion pictures reviews in the top search box; in the middle search box, type words from the film title (or vice versa).

Alt-Press Watch UVM affiliates only
Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.Coverage: 1970-present.

General OneFile UVM affiliates only
Popular magazines and scholarly journals, many with full-text articles. Coverage: 1980-present, date varies by publication.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective UVM affiliates only
Provides citations to movie reviews from both popular magazines and scholarly journals. International coverage. Coverage: 1907-1984.

Readers' Guide Retrospective UVM affiliates only
Provides citations to movie reviews from popular magazines. Coverage: 1890-1982.