Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

find film criticism articles

Film Criticism & Analyses - Start Here

Film & Television Literature Index UVM affiliates only
Covers all aspects of film and television writing: film criticism, reviews, film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, and cinematography. Citations with abstracts to articles, books, book chapters, and reviews. Some citations have links to full-text articles. Coverage: late 1970s-present.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals UVM affiliates only
Article and review citations (with abstracts) from periodicals, offering in-depth coverage of highly-regarded academic and popular film journals. Has more international emphasis than Film Literature Index. Many citations have links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1972-present.

Cinema and Media StudiesUVM affiliates only
Peer-reviewed (by scholars in the field) account of the most important books, articles, and web sites relating to all aspects of cinema and media studies. Date coverage varies by topic entry.

Film Literature Index
Citations to articles and reviews in film and television journals. Less international coverage than FIAF International Index. Coverage: 1976-2001.

Even More in the Reference Collection.....

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 / REF Z 5784 .M9 B39

Critical Index; A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973 / REF Z 5784 .M9 G47

Film Index: A Bibliography   (2 volumes) / REF Z 5784 .M9 W74  [1941]

Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals,...1930-1972  (2 volumes) / REF Z 5784 .M9 B64

New Film Index; A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English, 1930-1970 / REF Z 5784 .M9 M29 1975

Film Criticism & Analyses - Also Useful

MLA International Bibliography UVM affiliates only
Citations to articles and book chapters on film and television. Some citations have links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1920s-present.
Video Tutorials: MLA International Bibliography Tutorials. See this tutorial Researching Film, Television, and Radio in the MLA International Bibliography [note: UVM's MLA provider is EBSCO].

JSTOR UVM affiliates only
Full-text electronic core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences back to the 19th century. Provides access to back issues of journals, not current issues (i.e., last 2-5 years).

Project Muse UVM affiliates only
Full-text electronic scholarly journals published by major university presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Year coverage is generally for the last 4-5 years.

Art Full Text UVM affiliates only
Find citations to film and television criticism and reviews. From 1995 onwards, @300 periodicals provide citations with links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1984-present.

Other Indexes to Consider

Academic Search Premier UVM affiliates only Coverage: late 1970s–present (date varies by publication).
and

Expanded Academic ASAP UVM affiliates only Coverage: 1980–present (date varies by publication).
Multidisciplinary indexes to journal articles and partially full-text databases. Select the "peer-reviewed" limit to find articles in scholarly journals.

Literature Resource Center UVM affiliates only
Provides full-text access to English-language biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and discipline. Find information about selected screen writers and movie critics.

America: History and Life UVM affiliates only
Scholarly coverage of topics on the history of the U.S.and Canada from prehistory to the present. Many citations have links to full-text. Coverage: 1955–present.

Historical Abstracts UVM affiliates only
Scholarly coverage of topics on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S.and Canada. Many citations have links to full-text. Coverage: 1955–present.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective UVM affiliates only
Provides citations both popular magazines and scholarly journals. International coverage. Coverage: 1907-1984.