Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Film & Television Studies Subject Guide

Excellent Starting Point

Encyclopedias

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film (4 volumes) / REF PN 1993.45 .G65 2007

Encyclopedia of Early Cinema / REF PN 1993.45 .E53 2005
Online searchable version found in FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals UVM affiliates only. From the main page, click "Publications."  In the Source Type list, click "Books."

Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film (3 volumes) / REF PN 1995.9 .D6 E53 2006

Encyclopedia of British Film / REF PN 1993.5 .G7 E53 2014

History & Criticism

Film Study: An Analytical Bibliography (4 volumes) / REF Z 5784 .M9 M34 1990
Volume 1: examines the film as film; Volume 2: thematic approach to film; Volume 3: history of film; Volume 4: appendices listing film distributors, sources, and historical information and an index of authors, titles, and film personalities.

History of the American Cinema (10 volumes) / PN 1993.5 .U6 H55 (3rd floor)
While this set is not in the Reference Collection, it is an important work and worth highlighting. Each volume focuses on a separate decade, providing a narrative on the evolution of both the business and the art of film in America.

Guides & Companions

Film Encyclopedia, 7th ed. (Katz) / REF PN 1993.45 .K34 2012
One-volume guide to world cinema. Brief entries on films, filmmakers, organizations, techniques, technical terms, etc.

International Motion Picture Almanac / REF PN 1993.3 .I55 2014 *earlier years on the 3rd floor
Information on all aspects of the film industry for the current year: industry statistics; awards and festivals; entertainment industry biographies and obituaries; production services; professional and governmental organizations.

Oxford Guide to Film Studies / REF PN 1995 .O93 1998

The online searchable versions of the following four books are found in FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals UVM affiliates only. From the main page, click "Publications."  In the Source Type list, click "Books."

  • Encyclopedia of Early Cinema
  • Film Analysis: A Norton Reader
  • Oxford History of World Cinema
  • Routledge Companion to Film History

Film Terms/Concepts/Theory

Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory / REF PN 1993.45 .C75 2001

Dictionary of Film Terms : the Aesthetic Companion to Film Art / REF PN 1993.45 .B33 2006

Film Studies Dictionary  / REF PN 1993.45 .B53 2001
"...aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in various places..."

Filmmaker's Dictionary / REF PN 1993.45 .S56 2000

Browse the call number range PN 1993.45 in the reference stacks for additional books on film theory and terms.