Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Book Reviews

Find selected print and subscription electronic resources that provide citations to book reviews or full-text book reviews.

Book Review Guide - Scope

Collection of library-owned multidisciplinary print and online sources for book reviews in all disciplines, from the 19th century to present. Some online resources provide full-text book reviews; some provide full-text reviews and citations to reviews; some provide only citations to reviews. A citation provides the information needed to locate the book review.

Note:    If unable to locate a book review using the resources in this guide, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk, use our Ask-a-Librarian service, or contact me.

TIPS

  • Not every book gets reviewed.
  • Subject-specific article databases (e.g., Historical Abstracts) often include citations to or full-text book reviews.
  • In print book review sources, reviews do not always appear in the year of publication. Consult the index volume for the publication year but also volumes for a few years following the publication date.
  • UVM affiliates only after a database name in this guide indicates that it is a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

It is useful when looking for book reviews to know the:

Book author's full name
Book's complete title
Publication year of the book

To find this information, check one of the following:

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Book Reviews (free Web)

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718