Print: REF PS 21 .E537 2004 (4 vols)
Covers American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present, with essays on the most-studied American authors, literary masterworks, and genres or movements.
Covers the history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, with biographical essays on major authors and topical essays analyzing significant themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Call Number: REF PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005 (3 vols)
Covers major regions, authors, themes, and genres of literatures in English outside Great Britain and the United States.
Encyclopedia of Postcolonial Studies
Call Number: REF PN 849 .U43 E535 2016 (3 vols)
This title published by Wiley Blackwell brings together scholarship on the colonial, postcolonial and neo-colonial condition, covering 1492 to the present. @400 entries offer coverage exploring the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Useful for scholars in a broad range of fields, including world literature, anthropology, political science, sociology, gender, feminist and queer studies, history and history of science.
Portal to full-text information (biographies, encyclopedias, companions, primary sources), images and maps about African Americans, African American life and culture, and Africa and the diaspora.
Native American Literatures
Call Number: REF PS 153 .I52 W47 1999
An encyclopedia of Native American literatures featuring articles on individual authors, individual works, important characters in works, and on terms and events of historical significance that figure in many of the works.
Survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts-from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: REF PN 1625 .M3 1984 (5 vols)
Covers the earliest drama to the theatre of the 1980's, with essays on national drama and theatre around the world, theatre companies, and musical comedy.
Books and Beyond
Call Number: REF PS 374 .P63 B66 2008 (4 vols)
Collection of literature reviews on @70 literary genres (e.g. chick lit, coming of age, zines, etc.) with a focus on literature from 1980-present. Each review essay has a list of representative titles in that genre, along with a list of suggested readings.