Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

English & American Literature

Images - Licensed Databases Provided by Bailey/Howe Library

ARTstor UVM affiliates only
Database of high-quality image collections, from all periods and geographic regions. Search by keyword, or Browse by Geography, Classification, or Collection.

Oxford Art OnlineUVM affiliates only
Use IMAGES search.

Associated Press Photography Archive UVM affiliates only
Database of color and black/white photographs and print graphics-U.S. and international- from the Associated Press. Coverage: 1826-present.

Image Search Engines - Freely Available on the Internet

Google Image Search

Digital Public Library of America
An all-digital library that aggregates information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.

World Digital Library
Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries, covering the time period 1200 BCE-2000 CE.

Creative Commons (Search)
Search for images and other Internet content from other established web sites (such as Google Images or YouTube) that the content producers stated could be used commercially and/or with modification. For example, when you use Creative Commons to search Google Images, it will return only those images that are labeled for commercial reuse with modification. (read more about Creative Commons).

Digital Image Collections - Freely Available on the Internet

American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Digital record of American history and creativity. Provides free Internet access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Browse collections by topic or format; search by keyword.

Life Archive hosted by Google
Search or browse issues of LIFE (magazine) from 1936-1972. Photos are included. Also, Life Photo Archive.

Metropolitan Museum of Art - The Collection Online
Search 400,000+ objects held by the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

British Museum - Image Search
Search 2 million+ collection objects held by the British Museum.

British Cartoon Archive (University of Kent)
Search and browse the largest online archive of cartoons (editorial, socio-political, and pocket cartoons) in the UK, dating back to 1904.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to 800,000+ images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video, and more. Search by keyword, or Browse Collections. Includes the Berg Collection of English and American Literature.

Europeana Portal
Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. Holdings date back to @the 12th century. Co-funded by the European Union.

Web Gallery of Art
Virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts (e.g., painting, sculpture, etc.) from the 11th to mid-19th centuries.

Digital Scriptorium
Image database of selected medieval and early Renaissance manuscript collections from many U.S. institutions.

Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Open access to 50,000+ digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.

Visual Arts Data Service (VADA)
VADS is a UK-based online resource for the visual arts. Its collection includes well-known graphic designs, typography and book design, advertisements and posters, wallpapers, textiles, fashion, and interior design.