Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

English & American Literature

Licensed Databases Provided by the Bailey/Howe Library

Ambrose Video 2.0 UVM affiliates only
Collection of award-winning streaming videos in literature and the sciences, including the complete BBC Shakespeare Plays - 37 in total. Closed captioning may be toggled on and off.

Digital Theatre Plus UVM affiliates only
British-based collection of high-definition streaming videos which captures recent live full-length professional theatre productions (using multiple camera angles) from leading West End producers, the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, the Almeida, and other companies. Also: text- and video-based study guides and teaching aids on individual plays and theatre production and management, in general; Videos of interviews with actors and directors discussing their craft.

Filmakers Library OnlineUVM affiliates only
Searchable collection of award-winning international documentaries in streaming video format, covering a wide variety of subjects. Transcripts are included alongside the video, and clips may be created and shared.

Kanopy UVM affiliates only
Searchable collection of international feature films, documentaries, news reels and training videos in broad subject areas, including the arts, humanities and media/communication. Screen videos in class. Create clips/playlists. Embed any video or video clip within Blackboard.

American History in Video UVM affiliates only
Searchable collection of  commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries in streaming video format chronicles American history from the 1890s to the 1980s. Transcripts are included alongside the video, and clips may be created and shared.

Freely Available on the Internet

Global Shakespeares (sponsored by MIT)
Video and performance archive of Shakespeare performances from many parts of the world.

Prelinger Archives (Internet Archive ->  Moving Image Archive ->)
Sub-collection of the Moving Image Archive. @5,000 digitized and videotape titles and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

Moving Image Archive
Contains thousands of free digital movies uploaded by Archive users which include: classic full-length films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, and concerts. Many are available for free download.

European Film Gateway
EU-funded portal to the digital collections of 34 European film archives. Offers free access to digital videos, photographs, magic lantern slides, film posters, and text materials.

EUscreen
Provides online access to Europe's television heritage through videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s to the present.

Library of Congress - Films & Videos
Digital motion picture and television collections collected by the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division of the Library of Congress.


Museum of the Moving Image - Moving Image Source Research Guide
Created and maintained by the Museum of the Moving Image, this is a "gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media." Note: some resources in the guide are not available to the general public.