Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

English & American Literature

E-Books & E-Texts - Licensed Databases

E-Books & E-Texts - Freely Available on the Internet

In addition to Google Books....

Luminarium
Anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, Restoration and 18th Century. Includes sections on medieval drama and Renaissance drama.

ECCO-TCP
Searchable texts from Eighteenth Century Collections Online, English titles printed between 1701 and 1800. Images are not included.

18th Connect: Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online
Portal and research environment devoted to digital projects concerning the 18th century. Many primary texts and images are accessible by subject, author, and other categories. Use the Advanced Search to refine by format, discipline, genre, etc.

NINES: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online
Portal and research environment devoted to digital projects concerning the 19th century. Many primary texts and images are accessible by subject, author, and other categories. Use the Advanced Search to refine by format, discipline, genre, etc.

Wright American Fiction
A searchable full-text collection of 19th-century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction 1851-1875. Almost 1,500 writers are represented.

Making of America
Digital library of primary sources (books and journal articles with 19th c imprints) in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Victorian Women Writers Project
Project goal is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of literary works by British women writers of the late 19th century. The works, selected with the assistance of the Advisory Board, include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Public domain electronic texts and documents with a focus on American and English literature, and Western philosophy.


All Periods - All Subjects

Humanities Text Initiative
From the University of Michigan's Digital Library Production service, this site makes available varieties of texts, including poetry, essays, religious tracts, historical journal runs, etc.

Internet Archive: Texts
Wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses.

On-Line Books Page
Metasite that serves as an index to thousands of books (English or English translation) on the Internet. There is a link to a list of large, general-purpose Internet collections with substantial English-language listings.

Project Bartleby
Collection of electronic texts of fiction, poetry and essays in English, as well as selected "classic" reference works in the public domain. Features a full-text searchable database.

Project Gutenberg
Collection of electronic texts of (mostly) public domain works. Searchable by author, title, and Library of Congress classification.