Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

English & American Literature

social, cultural and historical contexts

Search Tip

NOTE: for these databases, the truncation (aka wildcard) symbol is *

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Journals (online and print)

Journal Titles provided by UVM Libraries UVM affiliates only

NOTE: UVM Libraries still owns many print journals

DOAJ (open access e-journals)

Tip!

NOTE: The Library does Not necessarily own every journal-or book-accessed through these databases. Use the Interlibrary Loan service to request books/copies of articles/copies of book chapters you need.

Most Useful Article Databases for Literary Research

JSTORUVM affiliates only
Full-text electronic core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences back to the 19th century. Provides access to back issues of journals, not current issues (i.e., last 2-5 years). Includes book reviews.

Project MuseUVM affiliates only
Full-text electronic scholarly journals published by major university presses in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Includes book reviews. Year coverage is generally for the last 4-10 years.

Bibliography of British and Irish History UVM affiliates only
Use this database to locate citations to articles, books, and book chapters on all aspects of British and Irish history including history of the British Empire and Commonwealth from all historical periods. Includes coverage of literary figures. Coverage: 1900-present.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via Web of Science) UVM affiliates only
Multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature (articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews) of the arts and humanities. Note that the cited reference field at the end of most records lists references to works cited by the document's author. Coverage: 1975–present.

Additional Databases Important to Your Research

Academic Search Premier UVM affiliates only
Coverage: late 1970s–present (date varies by publication).

America: History and Life UVM affiliates only
Scholarly coverage of topics on the history of the U.S.and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book reviews, film reviews, and dissertations. Many citations have links to full-text. Coverage: 1955–present.

Historical Abstracts UVM affiliates only
Scholarly coverage of topics on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S.and Canada. Includes citations to journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations. Many citations have links to full-text. Coverage: 1955–present.

TLS Historical Archive 1902-2011 UVM affiliates only
Searchable database of the full content of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS). Find full-text reviews (books, theatre productions, films, musical performances, exhibitions), essays, poems, letters to the editor, advertisements, and additional matter.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective UVM affiliates only
Provides citations to articles and book reviews in well-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known specialized magazines in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope. Coverage: 1907-1984.

The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (5 volumes) / REF Z 6956 .G6 W44
Indexes the prose contents of 45 major British 19th century periodicals (monthlies and quarterlies).

The Curran Index: Additions, Corrections, and Expansions of The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
Identifies the men and women whose stories, poems, and articles appeared anonymously in nineteenth-century British periodicals.