Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Biography

Anthropology

Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
GN 20 .B5 2004
(Reference)

Art and Architecture

Bryan's Dictionary of Painters and Engravers (5 volumes)
N 40 .B94 1918
(Reference)

Contemporary Architects
NA 680 .C625 1994
(Reference)

Contemporary Artists
Available in
: Biography in Context Icon


Dictionary of Art (34 volumes)
N 31 .D5 1996
(Reference)
Online
: Oxford Art Online  Icon


Dictionary of Women Artists (2 volumes)
N 8354 .D53 1997
(Reference)

Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists Icon

Self Taught, Outsider, and Folk Art:  A Guide to American Artists, Locations and Resources
NK 805 .S46 2000
(Reference)

St. James Guide to Black Artists
Available in
: Biography in Context Icon

Business

Biographical Dictionary of American Business Leaders (4 volumes)
HC 102 .5 .A2 I53 1983
(Reference)

Contemporary American Business Leaders:  A Biographical Dictionary
HC 102 .5 .A2 I534 1990 (Reference)

Corporate Eponymy:  A Biographical Dictionary of the Persons Behind the Names of Major American, British, European, and Asian Business
HC 29 .R66 1992 (Reference)

Entrepreneur Magazine Encyclopedia of Entrepreneurs
HC 102 .5 .A2 H35 1997
(Reference)

Entrepreneurs, the Men and Women Behind Famous Brand Names and How They Made It
HC 29 .F83 1985 (Reference)

Historical Encyclopedia of American Women Entrepreneurs: 1776 to the present
HF 3023 .A2 O64 2000
(Reference)

Economics

Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
HB 76 .B535 2000
(Reference)

Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
HB 76 .B5 1992
(Reference)

Fifty Major Economists
HB 76 .P74 2006
(Reference)

Great Economists Before Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Economists of the Past
HB 76 .B54 1986
(Reference)

Great Economists Since Keynes: An Introduction to the Lives & Works of One Hundred Modern Economists
HB 76 .B55 1985
(Reference)

Education

Biographical Dictionary of American Educators (3 volumes)
LA 2311 .B54
(Reference)

Directory of American Scholars
Available in:  Biography in Context  Icon

Fifty Major Thinkers on Education:  From Confucius to Dewey
LB 17 .F56 2001
(Reference)

Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education:  From Piaget to the Present
LB 17 .F57 2001
(Reference)

National Faculty Directory (3 volumes)
L 901 .N34 (latest volumes)
(Reference)

Patterson's American Education
L 901 .P3 (latest volume)
(Reference)

Environmental Studies

American Environmental Leaders:  From Colonial Times to the Present (2 volumes)
GE 55 .B43 2009
(Reference)

American Nature Writers (2 volumes)
PS 163 .A6 1996
(Reference)

Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists
QH 26 .B535 1997
(Reference)

Environmentalists: A Biographical Dictionary from the 17th Century to the Present
S 926.A2 A94 1993
(Reference)

National Leaders of American Conservation
S 926.A2 N37 1985
(Reference)

Film

Directors and their Films: A Comprehensive Reference, 1895-1990
PN 1998 .B85 1993
(Reference)

Great Movie Stars (3 volumes)
PN 1998 .A2 S54 1995
(Reference)

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (4 volumes)
PN 1997.8 .I58 2000
(Reference)

Women Filmmakers & their Films
PN 1998.2 .W66 1998
(Reference)

History

American Women Historians, 1700s-1990s:  A Biographical Dictionary
E 175 .45 .S27 1996
(Reference)

Blackwell Dictionary of Historians
D 14 .B58 1988
(Reference)

Great Historians From Antiquity to 1800:  An International Dictionary
D 14 .G74 1989
(Reference)

Great Historians of the Modern Age:  An International Dictionary
D 14 .G75 1991
(Reference)

Literature (in English)

African American Writers (2 volumes)
PS 153 .N5 A344 2001
(Reference)

American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies (multi-volume)
PS 129 .A55
(Reference)
17th century to the present.

British Writers (multi-volume)
PR 85 .B688
(Reference)
14th century to the present.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online Icon
Searchable database of full-text literary biographies profiling people from every era.

International Literature in English: Essays on the Major Writers
PR 9080 .I57 1991
(Reference)

Literature Resource Center  Icon
Covers all eras and genres.
Print counterparts: Contemporary Authors (REF Z 1224 .C6) and Dictionary of Literary Biography (LIBRARY RESEARCH ANNEX PN 41 .D42)

Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present
PS 508 .I5 N38 1994
(Reference)

Mathematics

Mathematicians from Antiquity to Today
QA 28 .F3
(Reference)

Notable Mathematicians
Available in:  Biography in Context Icon

Notable Women in Mathematics: A Biographical Dictionary
QA 28 .N68 1998
(Reference)

Music

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
ML 105 .B16
(Reference)
Also available in:
  Biography in Context Icon

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
ML 105 .H38 1996
(Reference)

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers (2 volumes)
ML 105 .C7 1987
(Reference)

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (29 volumes)
ML 100 .N48 2001
(Reference)
Online
Oxford Music Online  Icon

Contemporary Musicians
Available in:  Biography in Context Icon

Philosophy

Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy
B 41 .C66 2005 (Reference)

Fifty Key Medieval Thinkers
BR 1702 .E93 2002
(Reference)

Fifty Major Philosophers: A Reference Guide
B 72 .C59 2006
(Reference)

Great Thinkers of the Eastern World:  The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam
B 5005 .G74 1995
(Reference)

One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers
B 804 .O55 1998
(Reference)

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 volumes)
B 51 .R68 1998
(Reference)

Women Philosophers
B 105 .W6 K47 1989
(Reference)

Political Science and Government

Dictionary of Political Biography
Online: Dictionary of Political Biography  Icon

Fifty Major Political Thinkers
JA 66 .A314 2007
(Reference)

Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
D 412.6 .H88 1999
(Reference)

Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Political Thinkers
JA 83 .R725 1998
(Reference)

Religion

Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
BL 2525 .B45 1998
(Reference)

Dictionary of American Religious Biography
BL 72 .B68 1993
(Reference)

Great Thinkers of the Eastern World:  The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam
B 5005 .G74 1995
(Reference)

Peculiar Prophets:  A Biographical Dictionary of New Religions
BL 72 .L48 1999
(Reference)

Science

American Men and Women of Science (8 volumes)
Q 141 .A474
(Reference)
Also available in:
  Biography in Context Icon

Dictionary of Scientific Biography (18 volumes)
Q141 .D5
(Reference)

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists (5 volumes)
Q 141 .N73 1995
(Reference)

Sociology

Beyond the Enlightenment: Lives and Thoughts of Social Theorists
HM 478 .S35 2004
(Reference)

Sociological Theory: Classical Statements
HM 24 .A77 1995
(Reference)

Women in Sociology: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook
HM 19 .W59 1991
(Reference)

Librarian

Trina Magi's picture
Trina Magi
Contact:
Trina Magi
Bailey/Howe Library
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT 05405

802-656-5723

trina.magi@uvm.edu

Liaison to:
Community Development and Applied Economics Department and the
School of Business Administration