Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Biography

International Reference Sources

Biography in Context Icon
Subscription database containing full-text biographical information on people from all periods, locations and subject areas. Includes 650,000 entries covering international figures, drawn from numerous reference sources, plus multi-media content and full-text periodical articles.

Current Biography (multi-volume)
CT 100 .C8 (Reference)
Published 1940-present, contains about 150 biographies annually of people who are prominent in the news and popular culture (emphasis on Americans). Also contains obituaries for people whose biographies were previously published. Includes portraits.

 

Who’s Who. . .
Various call numbers
Who’s Who publications provide basic information on people by geography, occupation, sex, and other categories. To see a list of these publications, go to the Classic Library Catalog, click “Quick Search,” type whos who in the search box, and select "Title (Begins with)" from the drop-down menu.

 

Pseudonyms and Nicknames Dictionary (2 volumes)
CT 120 .P8 (Reference)
Identifies 55,000 original names behind 80,000 pseudonyms, stage names, aliases, nicknames, and other assumed names of prominent individuals throughout the world, across a wide variety of fields, and over time.

 

Ancestry Library Edition Icon
A database of family history and genealogy materials, including: census and voter data; vital records; immigration records including passenger lists; naturalization records; selected court, land and probate records; United States military and draft records; city directories; maps; statistics; and reference books. The census data included is largely from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Western Europe. Date coverage varies, but is primarily 18th century to present.

Librarian

Trina Magi's picture
Trina Magi
Contact:
Trina Magi
Bailey/Howe Library
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT 05405

802-656-5723

trina.magi@uvm.edu

Liaison to:
Community Development and Applied Economics Department and the
School of Business Administration