UVM Libraries Research Guides: GEOL 095: The Blue Planet (Fall 2017): Choosing Your Topic

Background and Reference Sources

So it's time to pick a topic. Where can you learn a bit more about these ideas to decide what you want to research?

The library subscribes to many reference books and reference databases. Reference means something you would refer to, a source that provides background information and summary of an issue, idea, or area of research. Reference materials include encyclopedias, subject-specific encyclopedias, and dictionaries.

Try out these resources below for reliable overview information to help you choose your topic. Not every source will cover every topic. Contact your librarian if you are having trouble!

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica. Articles are written by scholars and experts and include photographs, tables, graphs and videos. The resource also offers access to additional reference sources such as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus and country statistics.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to an extensive set of dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press, spanning a variety of different subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Try a search or click "Browse Issues" (at the top left) to browse for topic pages. Each page will include a variety of content (journal and magazine articles, reference sources, multimedia) and an overview of the topic.

Need Help? Contact Your Librarian!

If you aren't sure where to start or have a specific question, please don't hesitate to contact me!

E-mail: csilkotc@uvm.edu
OR
Schedule Appointment