Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

About IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Why and how to use IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

Why use this resource? IEEE Xplore provides access to a wide-ranging collection of scientific and technical publications covering all aspects of electrical engineering, computer science and communications. This includes journal articles, magazine articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and standards. Records include citation data.

What's in this resource? IEEE Xplore features content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). This content includes the full text of all articles in IEEE and IET journals, transactions, letters, and magazines from 1998 onwards, as well as preprints of papers to be published in the next 1-9 months and selected historical content back to 1872 - totaling more than 3 million full-text articles. It also contains the full text of all IEEE and IET conference proceedings from 1988 onwards, IEEE standards, and book tables of contents.

Subject(s)

Engineering     Electrical & Computer Engineering     Computer Science     Electronics
Dates of Coverage

journals and magazines: full text 1988-present, preprints to be published in the next 1-9 months, selected historical coverage for some titles back to 1872

conference proceedings: full text 1988-present

standards: 1948-present

Truncation or Wildcard

IEEE Xplore automatically looks for stem variations of search words; for example, if you search for cable, your results will also result cables and cabling.

? substitutes for one character within, or at the end of, a word

* substitutes for zero, one or multiple characters within, or at the end of, a word

NOTE: IEEE's search engine will recognize keywords with wildcard characters when they appear in metadata (bibliographic details including abstracts) but not when they appear in full text.

Phrase Searching "solid state"
Vendor Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Connect IEEE Xplore Digital Library